100 Happy Things – Day 5 (Temples)

Published April 3, 2014 by Bingo's Mom

I like visiting temples. I don’t mind the size of the temple. One thing I love in Tamil Nadu is, each street will have at least one temple. If not with gopuram, it would be with a small pillaiyar sitting blissfully inside a box sized cabin in front of any house.

Recently I visited Rameswaram and I loved that trip. We had an adventurous ride and almost reached Srilanka. My uncle told we are hardly 30 k.m. away from Srilanka. The fun part was to take bath in all those well which is considered auspicious. It was surprising that water from each well tasted differently.

And of course I love the prasadam that we get in temples. The best I had is the puliyodharai from Triplicane Parthasarathy Temple.

There is a Murugan temple near my parent’s house. I used to visit everyday when I was studying. The ‘Gurukkal’ became my friend and he used to praise me to my mother (ahem.. ahem..) Last time when I visited there, the temple had a new look with large gopuram, flashy lights, electrical bell etc. but the smile at Murugan’s face remained just the same and I could relate myself to him immediately as I did during my teenage.

6 comments on “100 Happy Things – Day 5 (Temples)

  • tiger rice in partha temple is the most best(i want to use this word though there is no meaning) in the world πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ no one can reach to the taste of this temple πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ 30km from srilanka :O happen to see atleast the ground from that distance ???? I am thrilled by reading your post πŸ™‚ I can imagine your excitement by then πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  • Leave a Reply

