Rasgulla recipe – BM 6

Published January 6, 2014 by Bingo's Mom

I had a food blog which is private now. This is from that blog. I never thought making Rasgullas can be this easy. I made them twice and came out good.

 

Ingredients:

Crumbled Paneer – 1 cup (I used home made and referred here*)
Sugar – 2 cups (heaped)
Water – 3 to 3 1/2 cups

Method:

Bring paneer to room temperature. Make dough out of it as we do for chapati. We need to do this very gently. Once the dough is formed, crumble it again and make dough. Knead with patience in this process. Don’t put pressure while making the dough. It may take 10 – 15 minutes for this. Make small balls out of it. 

In a cooker, add sugar + water and bring it to boil. Once sugar is dissolved, add the balls and close the lid. Leave for 5-6 whistles then simmer for 2 minutes. Switch off and let the pressure get released by itself. The paneer ball size would have doubled.

Bring it to room temperature and serve or serve chilled.

*Note: I don’t know why but the link which I gave above has my blog address too 😦 I referred from show me the curry site.


http://dreamymommy.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/blogathon-jan-2014/

30 comments on “Rasgulla recipe – BM 6

  • looks yummy and I never thought its this simple..
    I have a question though, I get this doubt while making gulab jamun balls too. If we don’t put pressure and make the balls, won’t the balls split into crumbles?
    I usually press the dough tight in my palm in order to retain the round shape while frying. otherwise it splits while frying.
    But, pressing tight makes the ball hard and takes longer time for the jeera to seep through…
    any suggestions?

  • Leave a Reply

